2013 “can’t wait to be published” list

Wow, 2012 is almost over.

I made a goal this year to read 100 books, as of today (12/02) I have read 37.  I never counted how many books I read in a year, so I had no idea how high of a goal to set.  However, even though I didn’t even reach half my goal, I am still pretty happy with my number.  My new goal is to read at least 3 this month and get over 40 before the end of the year.  Shouldn’t be too hard.

This is my 2012 Read list.  I didn’t count books I read to my daughter or books I read to my class when I was teaching.  I just counted books I read for me.

I will probably set my goal for 2013 at 60.  While there are already so many books out that I want to read, here is a list of books scheduled to publish this year that I am super excited about.  They are organized by expected release date.  Most of the dates come from Amazon.com, some from Goodreads or the author’s webpages.  If anything is wrong, please let me know.

(Click on the titles and it will send you to the Goodreads page)indigo spell

Indigo Spell (Bloodlines #3) by Richelle Mead February 2

YA, Paranormal Romance, Vampires,

I loved Vampire Academy so I was stoked when I heard Richelle Mead was writing another series based around Sydney.  The first two in this series were very good.  Sydney is sweet, naive yet strong and great as a leading character.  I can’t wait to see what unfolds for her.  While it’s not absolutely neccessary for you to read Vampire Academy before Bloodlines, Bloodlines will spoil the end of Vampire Academy.  So if you want to read Vampire Academy, read that series first.

fragments

Fragments (Partials #2) by Dan Wells Release Date February 26

YA, Post Apocalyptic, Dystopian, Science Fiction

Partials ended pretty intriguingly(is that a word?), so I can’t wait to read more about Kira and Samm.

requiem

Requiem (Delirium #3) by Lauren Oliver Release Date March 5

YA, Post Apocalyptic, Dystopian, Science Fiction, Romance

It’s been awhile since I read Pandemonuim, so I’ll  have to reread or skim that book before I read this one.  I like this series even though it can be a bit predictable.  It’s about a society where they consider love a disease and have developed a cure.

clockwork princess

Clockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices #3) by Cassandra Clare Release Date March 19

YA, Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy

This is another “spinoff” series.  Clare wrote the first three of The Mortal Instruments, then began writing this series which is set in London in the 1800s.  It’s a precursor to Mortal Instruments with some of the same characters and a few of the Mortal Instrument’s characters’ ancestors.

city of heavenly fire

City of Heavenly Fire (The Mortal Instruments #6) by Cassandra Clare Also says March so we’ll see

YA, Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy

The movie based on the first book,City of Bones, is coming out August 2013 as well.  Should be good. See the trailer here.  Busy year for Clare.

the elite

The Elite (The Selection #2) by Kiera Cass Release date April 23

YA, Dystopian, Romance

I can’t really explain why I am excited about this book.  The Selection was good, but pretty uneventful.  This is a dystopian society book, it focuses more on the love stories than overthrowing the government, so far.

dance of red deathThe Dance of Red Death (Masque of Red Death #2) by Bethany Griffin April-

YA, Science Fiction, Dystopia, Post Apocalyptic, Steampunk (whatever that is)

Technically, I haven’t read book 1 yet, so not sure if I am excited about this book coming out.  I love Edgar Allan Poe, so I loved the title of book 1, and if it’s even “okay”, I’ll probably be reading the whole series.  It has good reviews so I am optimistic.

horde

Horde (Razorland #3) by Ann Aguirre no date yet

YA, Science Fiction, Dystopia, Post Apocalyptic

I am a totally wimp when it comes to being scared.  I almost never watch scary movies. Seriously, Saw made me cry! So I am surprised how much I like the Razorland series.  This series is a little creepy because it has these zombieish things–they remind me of the things in the movie I Am Legend–anyway, I try not to read these books to late at night because then I have a hard time getting to sleep.  It was really bad when my husband was out of town and I decided to read book 2, Outpost.  Slept with the lights on.  Aside from that, it’s a pretty good series about people trying to survive being killed off my these frightening creatures.

Untitled (Possibly Convergent?? We’ll see…) Divergent #3 by Veronica Roth expected date September 26th, but what was I expecting? It doesn’t even have a title.  There is no link to this one because Goodreads has no information on the page.

YA, Dystopian Society, Post Apocalyptic, Science Fiction

UnSouled (UnWind #3)- by Neal Shusterman– no release date, just Fall of 2013.  Also no info on Goodreads.

YA, Dystopian Society, Post Apocalyptic, Science Fiction

As you can probably tell, I definitely have a genre of books that I love, but I am always looking for more books to read. So if you have any recommendations I’m all ears.

1 Comment

Filed under Book list

One response to “2013 “can’t wait to be published” list

  1. Pingback: The Selection | utopiaisabookstore

Leave a Reply

