What’s On the Menu Monday

Happy Monday everyone.  Hope your weekend was fantastic.  My whole house is sick, so that’s how my weekend was.

Sorry I don’t have any pictures of what I made yesterday.  I went to see Les Mis in the afternoon and my husband was going to make dinner.  He got busy working and forgot to put the chicken in the crock pot.  When I got home I had to hurry and throw dinner together.  Nothing special, Mac & Cheese, asparagus, and French Onion Chicken.  Only took about 30 mins and it was pretty good.  

Tonight I am making this Pork Tenderloin in the crock pot.  I have only made a pork tenderloin once before and I wasn’t very impressed.  But I figured might as well try again.  It only needs to cook for 4 hours so I have some time before I have to put it on.  I plan on doing some kind of potato-mashed, scalloped, or baked, haven’t decided yet- and broccoli.  I’ll post pictures if it turns out looking and/or tasting good.

I am also making:

Asian Chicken

This is a recipe I have used for years.  I got it from the Taste of Home Cookbook

IMG_2175

As you can see, I have made this recipe once or twice.  The book came with those plastic page protector thingies, but I always forgot to use them.  I use chicken breast instead of thighs and I make twice as much sauce and marinade the chicken before I cook it. I throw out the marinade, bake the chicken, then cook the rest of the sauce.  Sometimes I add water chestnuts, peanuts, and steamed broccoli for fun.  It’s a little spicy, not too bad, but to change that add less red pepper (or more if you like the spicy.)  I used to make it with chow mien noodles, but I have not been able to find  the right noodles since I got to KC, so I’ll probably just make some fried rice.

Meatball Subs- meatballs(ground beef mixed with Italian spices and bread crumbs-baked), Prego pasta sauce, olives, Mozzarella cheese-this week I have shredded- parm, rolls.

Beer Can Chicken in the crock pot.  We used to have a smoker and my husband would make beer can chicken.  It was amazing, moist, tender, smokey, flavorful.  Are you drooling?  Because I am.  We no longer have a smoker-sucks- so we’re going to see what we can do with the crock pot.  I know, I know.  There is no way cooking a chicken in a crock pot will be anything like cooking a chicken in a smoker, but we’re going to see what happens. I have looked at a few recipes online and they are very similar.  Chicken, beer, spices, cook 6-8 hours.  Shouldn’t be too hard.  I’ll let you know how it turns out.

What’s for dinner?

Menu monday

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

